Legal information relating to tenders

Who is eligible to use ESPO’s services?

ESPO may supply goods and provide services to any “public body”, as defined in the Local Authorities (Goods and Services) Act 1970 (as amended). Further information about which organisations are eligible to use our services is available in the following document:

If you are unsure of whether your organisation is eligible to use ESPO, please get in touch with us by emailing

Find a Tender framework permissible users

Classification of geographical areas referred to in Find a Tender notices:

UK/United Kingdom: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Administrative Regions of the United Kingdom/UK: All Local Government administered regions of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Regions in England: Reference may be made to the 9 highest tier of Regions:- East Midlands, West Midlands; East of England; South East; South West; North West; North East; Yorkshire & Humber; London, or to individual administering Councils. Click here for more information

Northern Ireland: Administered across 11 Districts of Northern Ireland (formerly 26 Districts until 1 April 2015): Click here for more information

Scotland: Administered across 32 Council areas: Click here for more information

Wales: Administered across 22 Council areas: Click here for more information

ESPO Member Authorities: Click here for more information

NUTS CODES: The European Journal template requires selection of a NUTS code (Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics) in an OJEU Notice, but regrettably, will not allow selection of more than one. Thus, where a notice refers to delivery/use in more than one specific region, but not throughout the UK, a NUTS code will be selected that best reflects the region of greatest use. Where a notice refers to delivery/use within more than one specific region and also throughout the UK, the NUTS code for 'UK' will be selected.

Classification of user organisations referred to in OJEU notices

Local Authorities: County, Unitary, District, Borough, and Metropolitan Councils (Parish and Community Councils are also permissible users) - please refer to the links in the relevant Sections above entitled: Regions in England; Northern Ireland; Scotland; Wales.

Educational Establishments: Nursery School, Primary School, Middle or High School, Secondary School, Academy, Special School, Pupil Referral Unit (PRU), Further Education Colleges, Universities.

Schools in England
Schools in Scotland
Schools in Wales
Schools in Northern Ireland
Universities and Colleges in England, Scotland and Wales
Universitiies and Colleges in Northern Ireland

Police, Fire & Rescue & Maritime & Coastguard Agency Emergency Services:

NHS Bodies, the HSC (Northern Ireland) and Ambulance Services:

Government Departments and Agencies:
A listing of UK government departments can also be found here:

Registered Charities: 

Registered Social Landlords: Government-funded, not-for-profit organisations that provide affordable housing. They include housing associations, trusts and cooperatives.